Welcome to the GIGABYTE Forum, the right place to ask questions about GIGABYTE products, search for solutions, share your experience with other users. Please login or register.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, search of the whole forum, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

   

87947 Posts in 12581 Topics by 22604 Members
Latest Member: jknight118
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  my Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H does not like my ASUS gtx 680 « previous next »
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: my Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H does not like my ASUS gtx 680  (Read 1617 times)
Eildosa
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

France France

Posts: 2


« on: November 29, 2012, 03:54:19 pm »

Hi,

I just bought this motherboard and it works fine with my GTX480 but when I plug
my GTX 680 It get stuck at the gigabyte splash screen for 120 seconds.

Every 30 seconds the buzzer does a "bip"

Moreover it is impossible to access the BIOS when using a GTX 680.
If I press "del" then after the 120 seconds I get a black screen, I waited more than 15 minutes and the screen stayed black.

I'm with a F16 bios, I'd like to update but I can't. I downloaded the only archive available on gigabyte website and extracted it, inside I have the 3 following files :

autoexec.bat
Efiflash.exe
Z77D3H.F18

When double clicquing on Efiflash.exe I get an error message telling me that the version of this file is not compatible with my OS

I'm running Windows 7 x64 with all updates.

Any thought?
thanks
Logged
smashly
Newbie
*

Karma: 2
Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 18


« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2012, 01:20:36 am »

To flash your bios use the motherboards built in Q-Flash utility:
1) In windows copy Z77D3H.F18 file to a usb stick.
2) Reboot computer with USB stick still plugged in.
3) While the computer is booting up press End key on your keyboard to enter Q-Flash utility.
4) Select your USB stick and select Z77D3H.F18 as the file to flash.

The reason your getting an error when clicking Efiflash.exe in windows is because it's a dos flash utility.
It's meant to be run in dos outside of windows.

Sorry I have no helpful input for your GTX 680 problem.
Hope you didn't buy the Asus GTX 680 DirectCU II TOP Edition of the card as it's known for problems your describing as well as stability issues on more then just Gigabyte motherboards.
The Non TOP version of the card seems not to have the issues.
I'm using 2x MSI GTX 670 PE in GA-Z77MX-D3H motherboard without a problem.
Logged
Eildosa
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

France France

Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2012, 10:47:53 am »

Unfortunatly I can't do that, since I cannot go into the bios xD

it's a Asus GTX680-4GD5

Anyway what I did is install a windows with a GTX480, then I used the @bios utility to upgrade to F18.
Now I don't have any problem with my GTX680 anymore.

So for future readers :  you need a F18 bios to use a GTX680 from asus, if you can't access your bios you'll need to boot with an other graphic card.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  my Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H does not like my ASUS gtx 680 « previous next »
    Jump to: