Official GIGABYTE Forum

GA-Z170X Gaming 7 Dead after bios flash

kc0r8y

GA-Z170X Gaming 7 Dead after bios flash
« on: January 22, 2016, 10:24:07 pm »
Hi,
Need some help. I have been building PCs for 20+ years and this is my first Gigabyte board. Prior I have always used Abit, Asus, Intel and AsRock.

I have a Z170X gaming 7 board I got in a combo deal from NewEgg. The board, 6700k and 16GB 3400 G-Skill ram. I read alot of reviews that said the motherboard needs F6 bios to run the higher speed memory in XMP mode. So before actually building the PC I setup on the motherboard box and build it outside of the case, then once all working fine I put it in the case.

This is exactly what I did.

Took the board out the box and put it on top of the box.

Installed the CPU and Corsair Watercooler
Installed the 2 Sticks of 3400Mhz Ram
Plugged in my 1000 watt powersupply
Plugged in my keyboard
Plugged in my 970 GTX card.

Booted one time into the bios with no problems. I confirmed it had the F5 bios. tried to set the memory to XMP and like everyone else mentioned it would run at that speed.

I then downloaded the F6 bios from their web site. I extracted the 3 files and copied them to my thumb drive.
I read the directions on the web site as well as the manual to confirm the proper way to flash the bios.
I plugged in the flash drive and hit F9 I believe it was to load the Q-Flash utility.
I selected the drive and the bios file. The utility verified the bios version and I hit flash.
It went through the process of installing the bios and when it was finished it prompted me to reboot but before I can hit reboot it rebooted itself. From there all I now get when I turn it on is the fans spin and thats it. Lights are on but no one is home. I don't even get any codes, it's not even lit up.

From there I have tried:
Clearing the bios via the button and the jumper
Removing the battery
Switched from Dual bios to single via the switch on the board.