Welcome to the GIGABYTE Forum, the right place to ask questions about GIGABYTE products, search for solutions, share your experience with other users. Please login or register.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, search of the whole forum, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

   

89565 Posts in 12993 Topics by 23294 Members
Latest Member: Rincewindcl
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  easy tune 6 will not start « previous next »
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: easy tune 6 will not start  (Read 13732 times)
silver88
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2


« on: February 10, 2011, 08:39:52 pm »

Hi folks have the following;

MoBo G31m_ES2L version 2.0 Bios revision FH
Intel E5800 @3.2GHz
4GB 800 MHz memory.
Running windows 7 64 bit ultimate
PSU 580 Watts
All running fine and no overclocking

Decided to run Easytune 6  and downloaded and ran the latest update from Gigabyte web site(today 10/02).

Result..... nothing got little blue circle for a few seconds then nothing , no error message either. Shocked
Downloaded again same result
Would really appreciate any help as to what the problem might be.
Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 413
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2011, 08:43:23 pm »

Hi and welcome to the Gigabyte Forum.

Easy Tune 6 requires the latest BIOS versions to run properly and whether it will run on your board or you would need to download the previous version I am not sure. I would suggest updating your BIOS to the latest one available and then try again.

Personally I am not in favour of these free utilities as they can cause a lot of trouble with other programs etc.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
soarwitheagles
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 17
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 826



« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2011, 08:54:23 pm »

Hi folks have the following;

MoBo G31m_ES2L version 2.0 Bios revision FH
Intel E5800 @3.2GHz
4GB 800 MHz memory.
Running windows 7 64 bit ultimate
PSU 580 Watts
All running fine and no overclocking

Decided to run Easytune 6  and downloaded and ran the latest update from Gigabyte web site(today 10/02).

Result..... nothing got little blue circle for a few seconds then nothing , no error message either. Shocked
Downloaded again same result
Would really appreciate any help as to what the problem might be.

Silver88,

Welcome to the forum and thanks for posting!

Some people have had good experiences with the Easy Tune 6 while others have had nightmares...

First time I ever used it was with G31 motherboard with an E4500 I think.  It worked perfect!  Then, on the next 3 builds it was a total disaster!  The systems were perfectly stable until I installed the Easy Tune 6 program.  Then, I would have non stop BSOD's, freeze ups, etc. and often just from the install...[I did not even try to use it yet]!

For me personally, I decided never again.

I encouarge you to be careful with it.  So a system restore point before you install it and realize you can be placing your entire system stability at risk by using it.

There are much better programs out there.  Better yet, why not use the BIOS yourself!

Soar
Logged

AMD 1055T
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
XFX 6870 DD
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
OCZ ZX-850 Watt Gold
HAF 932

Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
OCZ ZX-850 Watt Gold
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue

Both Systems:

Windows 7+8
Scythe Temp Monitor + Fan Controller
silver88
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2011, 08:58:15 pm »

Thanks for the quick response folks. There is a more uptodate BIOS but I am not keen to change just so I can use Gigabytes easytune.

Seems like a bad idea anyway!!

Based on your expeience would you care to recommend some other software for assisting with overclocking.

I am new to this overclocking lark!

Thanks
Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 413
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2011, 10:16:42 pm »

I would suggest that you try here for some of the best tools:

http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/30530-latest-overclocking-programs-system-info-benchmarking-stability-tools.html
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
soarwitheagles
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 17
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 826



« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2011, 04:31:56 pm »


DM, that site you gave him is incredibly rich with benchmarking tools.  I think he is looking for over clocking tools.  BTW, which over clocking tool do you recommend?

Soar  
Logged

AMD 1055T
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
XFX 6870 DD
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
OCZ ZX-850 Watt Gold
HAF 932

Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
OCZ ZX-850 Watt Gold
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue

Both Systems:

Windows 7+8
Scythe Temp Monitor + Fan Controller
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 413
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2011, 08:01:59 pm »

Hi Soar,

Did you check right down the page as it lists many different types of tools ? I can't remember without checking but I was fairly sure that there were overclocking tools there too.

Honestly I am not a big overclocker. I have the odd play around just to see what I can get out of a certain configuration etc but I normally run at staock as I feel the software today doesn't require overclocked hardware to run it. We are in a hardware driven stage at the moment and until some killer app comes out that stretches the ability of the hardware there doesn't seem a lot of point.

I prize stability over speed any day. That isn't to say that you can't have a stable overclocked system though before someone jumps on me! Wink
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
soarwitheagles
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 17
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 826



« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2011, 06:28:32 am »

Hi Soar,

Did you check right down the page as it lists many different types of tools ? I can't remember without checking but I was fairly sure that there were overclocking tools there too.

Honestly I am not a big overclocker. I have the odd play around just to see what I can get out of a certain configuration etc but I normally run at staock as I feel the software today doesn't require overclocked hardware to run it. We are in a hardware driven stage at the moment and until some killer app comes out that stretches the ability of the hardware there doesn't seem a lot of point.

I prize stability over speed any day. That isn't to say that you can't have a stable overclocked system though before someone jumps on me! Wink

DM,

I like the way you think..."stability over speed any day!"  My mind is in the same exact train of thought.  Although I purchased a system that can be over clocked, I probably will not do so myself unless I see a pattern of stability and consistency.  In all honesty, I simply do not have the time, knowledge, and expertise to play with all the variables and settings required to over clock in a rational, successful manner.   Tongue

I did not find any over clocking software listed on the page you gave us here...but I did find an abundant wealth of benchmarking and testing software that is absolutely stellar!  Never seen so many effective tools at one site!  Wow!  Thanks for pointing us there DM!

Have a great day champ!

Soar
Logged

AMD 1055T
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
XFX 6870 DD
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
OCZ ZX-850 Watt Gold
HAF 932

Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
OCZ ZX-850 Watt Gold
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue

Both Systems:

Windows 7+8
Scythe Temp Monitor + Fan Controller
Artemis
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

Sweden Sweden

Posts: 1


« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2011, 09:52:02 pm »

Sorry if I have to hi-jack your thread, but I have had similar problems.
Pretty much the only reason I wanted to use EasyTune 6 was to reduce the fan speed. So, my question is, are there other programs which will work similarly?

Thanks
Logged
Lsdmeasap
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 58
Offline Offline

Posts: 1166



WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2011, 11:24:41 am »

What are you looking to do, then I could suggest some other tools for you
Logged
Pages: [1]
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  easy tune 6 will not start « previous next »
    Jump to: