Official GIGABYTE Forum

New Build With GA-X58A-UD3R Questions

wbear

New Build With GA-X58A-UD3R Questions
« on: June 19, 2011, 09:02:14 pm »
Hi.
Just joined this very informative forum. I am not new to computers (got my first Apple II in 1982) but this is my first build from scratch. Had a M61P-S3 and GT 240 in a previous store bought custom build, liked them and decided to go Gigabyte in this build.

I have ordered most of the parts and they are now coming in but I could return some if necessary. Want some feedback and opinions before I make a mistake.

I am not a gamer nor do I normally work with video conversion or use Photoshop. I am just a "technology enthusiast" who wants a fast build with the latest stuff that will satisfy me for several years to come.

Already on the way are: Corsair 650D case, I7 960 Bloomfield 3.2GHZ, GA-X58A-UD3R (I assume rev 2), 12gb (3x4gb) triple channel kit of Corsair Vengeance Ram 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 1.5v, A50 Cpu Cooler, Gigabyte GTX 550 TI Graphics card.

I am getting ready to order an Intel SSD for the OS and a WD sata HD, 1 or 1.5 TB, either Caviar Black or an RE4 depending on feedback about need for sata2 or 3.

I spoke to a tech at gigabyte for MB/chip recommendations for my use and ended up with what I have ordered. I mentioned Sandy Bridge and associated MB but for the price he felt the 1366 would more than meet my requirements. The only concern I have after research is perhaps another MB/chip combination would not have the sata3 limitations? Waiting for IVY Bridge or whatever is possible but I wanted something now but I can wait.

1. I have read Lots of previous threads here and know that the marvell chip is going to limit any sata3 speed advantages and I don't want to add a PCIe card. I know I need to use the Intel ICH10R sata2 0 port for the SSD Boot drive and the next port for the HDD (thanks Dark Mantis).