Welcome to the GIGABYTE Forum, the right place to ask questions about GIGABYTE products, search for solutions, share your experience with other users. Please login or register.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, search of the whole forum, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

   

88517 Posts in 12732 Topics by 23393 Members
Latest Member: Krakn
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with AMD processors  |  Is the GA-M57SLI-S4 (Ver 2.0) motherboard AHCI capable? « previous next »
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Is the GA-M57SLI-S4 (Ver 2.0) motherboard AHCI capable?  (Read 1274 times)
Dave S.
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 5


« on: July 28, 2011, 10:17:07 pm »

Hi folks. I've been trying to figure this out... I have the GA-M57SLI-S4 Version 2.0 motherboard with the FF bios, so I was wondering if this it's AHCI capable or not.

Just checking. Thanks!
Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 414
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 11:52:10 pm »

Hi

Are you asking because you can't find it in the BIOS or is it just a general question ?

Anyway the answer is yes it is AHCI capable.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
Dave S.
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2011, 05:31:38 pm »

Hi

Are you asking because you can't find it in the BIOS or is it just a general question ?

Anyway the answer is yes it is AHCI capable.
I didn't see any AHCI options in the bios, and I checked all the options in there. Unless it's hidden somewhere under another menu?

The manual available at Gigabyte's site doesn't mention it, so I was confused.
Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 414
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2011, 09:29:10 am »

The driver is the same as the RAID one and  as your motherboard supports RAID it must support AHCI. It might be an idea to ask GGTS about this and see if it is just an oversight in the BIOS writing. You can contact them here :

Just enter your email address and click on the language of choice.
GGTS   http://ggts.gigabyte.com/

Please expect several days for a reply.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
Pages: [1]
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with AMD processors  |  Is the GA-M57SLI-S4 (Ver 2.0) motherboard AHCI capable? « previous next »
    Jump to: