Welcome to the GIGABYTE Forum, the right place to ask questions about GIGABYTE products, search for solutions, share your experience with other users. Please login or register.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, search of the whole forum, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

   

88392 Posts in 12698 Topics by 22791 Members
Latest Member: Anhre
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  What is the GWUM tool? and how to remove it? « previous next »
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: What is the GWUM tool? and how to remove it?  (Read 7595 times)
azmanmanz
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

Malaysia Malaysia

Posts: 6


« on: August 19, 2011, 09:29:59 am »

I have download the latest version of Easy Tune 6, The instruction ask to remove GWUM tool before install it. What is this?

Please advice

Easy Tune6 (Intel)
(Please remove your current EasyTune6 or earlier, and GWUM Tools before install this.)
(Note) Support Intel Z68/P67/H67/P55/H55/H57/X58/P45w/P43/G45/G43/G41 series MB (support may vary by model).

Thk's
Logged
xiaoyao
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 3


« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 12:16:58 pm »

It stands for Gigabyte Windows Utility Manager, a very old tool for  Easy Tune 4 only.
Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 414
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2011, 12:59:45 pm »

Yes I am surprised that you have it on your system in the first place.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
rrmoboud3r
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2012, 04:08:02 pm »

When you had an old version  of the GIgabytetool @BIOS in your   Windowssystem and you uninstalled with ¬®the add or  remove software function¬® of Windows, then  the old gigabyte utility Gwum stays in your computer  as you can see when you want to install the latest
version of the @bios software.
I used the trick to reinstall  (automatic update to) the old @BIOS version and after that tried to install  the latest advised @BIOS version from Gigabyte,  this new installationpackage  removed then the old @BIOS including the old  Gwum. You can update to a larger size  BIOS then.

The  Gigabyte website gives inadequate information here.
 
Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 414
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2012, 09:31:09 pm »

Thanks for that workaround. I am sure that there will be others who will find it useful. Wink
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
Pages: [1]
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  What is the GWUM tool? and how to remove it? « previous next »
    Jump to: