Official GIGABYTE Forum

AMD or Intel - Which platform should I go for?

absic

• Never give up; Never surrender!
    • Bandcamp
AMD or Intel - Which platform should I go for?
« on: December 07, 2011, 02:58:18 pm »
As anyone who frequents this forum on a regular basis will know, I have been using AMD systems for well over ten years and have always been really pleased with the way things work. But recently, I have come across a few situations where I have encountered issues and, on approaching different hardware manufacturer's, have been told: "Sorry, we don't have an AMD system for testing". I have to say that I have found this response more than a little surprising. Alright, I know that Intel dominates the home PC market but, there are enough AMD user's to surely warrant a better approach than this.

Things came to a head recently when I purchased a couple of SSD's and was bitterly dissappointed at the write speeds that I was able to get from them which were way below those claimed in the advertising literature. I have now spent two months, trying to get an answer as to why this is happening and, once again, I was told that they didn't have an AMD system for testing. Since I got in touch with them they have now got a Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 for testing, but I still haven't had any real answers as to the situation.

Then AMD's Bulldozer FX processors came along and the reviews were less than flattering so, along with a raft of other AMD users, I have had to think what my next steps will be, regarding upgrading my current system or switching platforms. Trying to make this choice is not easy, as the cost of switching motherboards and CPU does not come cheap but the cost of upgrading to a Bulldozer FX for the reported little gains over my current X6 1090T makes this even more of a challenge and is a similar situation that you may well be facing.