Welcome to the GIGABYTE Forum, the right place to ask questions about GIGABYTE products, search for solutions, share your experience with other users. Please login or register.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, search of the whole forum, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

   

88926 Posts in 12842 Topics by 23050 Members
Latest Member: ibi0tux
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with AMD processors  |  USB 3.0 ports not working on Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H motherboard « previous next »
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: USB 3.0 ports not working on Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H motherboard  (Read 2391 times)
rkaczano
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

Canada Canada

Posts: 2


« on: February 13, 2012, 04:42:31 pm »

My USB 3.0 ports stopped working a few days ago on my GA-A75M-UD2H motherboard.

OS
Win7, 64 bit version. 6.1, Build 7601, Service Pack 1

None of the devices that I plug into these ports can be recognized.  Upgraded the bios from F4 to F5 and no effect.

Should I be looking for a setting in the bios to ensure they are active?

Thanks
Logged
rkaczano
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

Canada Canada

Posts: 2


« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 05:00:25 pm »

One more point.  When the ports were working, I never really liked the transfer rate.  It did not seem to be much different than what I was achieving via my 2.0 USB ports.

Thanks
Logged
autotech
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 1156



« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 03:53:10 am »

Go into device manager and see if there are any errors with usb controllers if not as a last resort you can uninstall them and then reboot they should install automatically.

As for your speed are you using usb3 devices not usb2 flash drives, external hard drives and so on?
Logged

GAMING G1\,Silverstone 1000watt\ ,4790K ,8 GIG 2400 ram , Corsair 240GB SATA III SSD, 2 x 500 gig HD,7 ult 64\, R9 280x\

Z97X-SOC GIGABYTE, I5 4670k, 16 gig 1600 ram, 240 gig sata3 SSD,1x 500HD/ 6950 Sapphire, Gamer hifi sound, coarsair 650 RM PS

890-FXA-ud5,1090t,750 coarsair,,8 gig 1600,240S
absic
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 420
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 5389


Never give up; Never surrender!


« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2012, 11:53:12 am »

Are you running the latest AMD drivers 12.1?

If not download them from here: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/raid_windows.aspx#2 and see if that improves things.
Logged

Remember, when all else fails a cup of tea and a good swear will often help! It won't solve the problem but it will make you feel better.
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 413
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2012, 03:44:41 pm »

Obviously make sure that USB3.0 is enabled in the BIOS. If you are not using ESATA disable it.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
autotech
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 1156



« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2012, 02:01:55 am »

Ok now for another question and sorry for using your thread. I use  ati graphics drivers each month when i update them does it update the chipset to or do i need to do that seperatly?
Logged

GAMING G1\,Silverstone 1000watt\ ,4790K ,8 GIG 2400 ram , Corsair 240GB SATA III SSD, 2 x 500 gig HD,7 ult 64\, R9 280x\

Z97X-SOC GIGABYTE, I5 4670k, 16 gig 1600 ram, 240 gig sata3 SSD,1x 500HD/ 6950 Sapphire, Gamer hifi sound, coarsair 650 RM PS

890-FXA-ud5,1090t,750 coarsair,,8 gig 1600,240S
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 413
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2012, 08:24:18 pm »

If it is only the standard graphics package that you usually update then you will still need to update the chipset drivers too.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
autotech
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 30
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 1156



« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2012, 04:53:09 am »

What i would do without your wisdom i dont know Thank You Dark Mantis
Logged

GAMING G1\,Silverstone 1000watt\ ,4790K ,8 GIG 2400 ram , Corsair 240GB SATA III SSD, 2 x 500 gig HD,7 ult 64\, R9 280x\

Z97X-SOC GIGABYTE, I5 4670k, 16 gig 1600 ram, 240 gig sata3 SSD,1x 500HD/ 6950 Sapphire, Gamer hifi sound, coarsair 650 RM PS

890-FXA-ud5,1090t,750 coarsair,,8 gig 1600,240S
Pages: [1]
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with AMD processors  |  USB 3.0 ports not working on Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H motherboard « previous next »
    Jump to: