Official GIGABYTE Forum

GA-P67A-UD3-B3 power on issue

GA-P67A-UD3-B3 power on issue
« on: March 04, 2012, 02:12:53 am »
Hello, and sorry for my poor english.
I have a motherboard GA-P67A-UD3-B3 which does not start until I switch off the power and take off the CMOS battery for about 30 seconds. After this procedure, the computer starts with the default settings and I have no problem until I power off the system. At that point, if I want to power on the computer again, I must to repeat the same procedure. I read on the forums that this defect is quite common on GigaByte's P67 motherboards: I tried to update the BIOS with the new version F8 (I've updated also the recovery BIOS, via the command ALT-F12, because I've read that sometimes this solve some stability issue) but nothing has changed. The motherboard is under warranty, but before I send it, I want to know if there is a faster solution.
N.B.:
I am a computer technician: before write here, I made ​​a test with a new power supply but without results. I've tried also to start with only one DIMM at a time, but nothing happens. The DIMMs are 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance (CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B). I would think a hardware defect, but I've read that many people have the same problem. I've also followed the procedure on this topic: http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,8392.0.html

Thanks to everyone for the help. :-)
Core i5 2500 + GA-P67A-UD3-B3 + 2 x 4GB DDR3 + SCSI Adaptec 29160N + ATARAID CTRL IT8212F + SCSI HDD 36GB Cheetah Enterprise + SATA HDD 1TB Barracuda 7200.11
Openoffice 3.3.0 and LibreOffice 3.5.0 on Windows 7 x64 SP1

Lsdmeasap

• Gigabyte Support (TweakTown USA)
Re: GA-P67A-UD3-B3 power on issue
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 06:00:16 am »