Welcome to the GIGABYTE Forum, the right place to ask questions about GIGABYTE products, search for solutions, share your experience with other users. Please login or register.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, search of the whole forum, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

   

88364 Posts in 12691 Topics by 22781 Members
Latest Member: rajesh
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  Computer wont even start! « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Computer wont even start!  (Read 1727 times)
Kren
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 9


« on: March 08, 2012, 08:29:03 am »

Hi! I after spending all night installing a G1.Assassin I realized that the computer wont even start. All the case fans wont even spin, the dvd tray doesnt open, the liquid cooling system wont turn on either... and the only thing I notice when I hit the power button is that two of the eight phase leds turn on, one is orange and the other one is green. It is acting as if it wasnt receiving any power at all! 
Logged
Lsdmeasap
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 58
Offline Offline

Posts: 1166



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 08:31:57 am »

Do you have a case speaker connected?  If not, connect one and tell us what beeps you hear

Also, be sure you install the memory only in slots 2, 4, 6 physical from the CPU (labeled 1, 3, 5)
Logged
Kren
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 08:37:22 am »

Thanks for the reply! Actually, the only external plug connected is the PSU's inlet and I have 4 ram memories installed in the 1st 2nd 4th and 6th slots. I already tried taking all those memories away and installing only one but it didnt work D:
Logged
Lsdmeasap
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 58
Offline Offline

Posts: 1166



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2012, 08:45:01 am »

I'm not sure what you mean about the PSU plug?  But you need to have a 24 pin cable connected from the PSU to the motherboard, and the 8 pin ATX EPS 12V cable as well (installs near the CPU)

Memory can only be used in the slots I mentioned if you are using three modules, or only in one of those same mentioned slots if using one module.   For now, just use three until you get going, as four modules is not ideal on X58 anyway.

Memory must be installed in 2, 4, 6 slots outward physically from the CPU, the green slots.  Do that with only three sticks now, and connect both the 24 pin cable and the 8 pin cable from your PSU.   

Be sure you use a 8 pin cable labeled ATX EPS or CPU from the PSU, and not an 8 PIN that is meant for graphics cards.    If your PSU does not have an 8 pin for the CPU it will have a 4 pin instead, one of those must be connected along with the 24 pin.

Logged
Kren
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 9


« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2012, 09:03:38 am »

Okey, I installed only three ram memories in the Green slots, the 24 pin connector is conncted and I used an 8 pin conector labeled "+12v MB" for the cpu. I also have an amd 6990 installed with both 8 pins connectors connected with a PCIE cable. It still doesnt work Cry. Thanks a ton for the reply!

PS: by psu plug I mean the power cable between the wall's outlet and the psu
Logged
Lsdmeasap
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 58
Offline Offline

Posts: 1166



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2012, 09:12:51 am »

Ahh ok on the PSU!   Sounds like you have it all setup correctly, no error beeps, or do you not have a case speaker connected?  If you do not have a speaker connected please connect one.

What CPU are you using?  

Does the board stay running, or does it cycle on / off quickly?  Please try connecting the 8 pin CPU connector to the lower 8 pin connector on the board, if you have it in the upper one now.

If none of that helps, you may need to remove the CPU and check to make sure there are NO bent CPU socket pins, if a single one is bent or broken the board might not start.  << Wait on this until you tell me about the CPU you are trying, in case it's just the CPU might not be compatible with the BIOS installed.  If this is the case, do you have or can you borrow an older CPU from somewhere like 920-920?

Was this all new, or did you buy used?

Also, before you try anything else!   Please try clearing the CMOS.   Unplug the power supply from the wall, or switch it off, then press and hold the case power on button for one minute.  Then short the Clear CMOS pins for a minute, then remove the short and turn the power supply back on and see if it will start then.

And remove ALL hard drives, CD/DVD drives, and anything else you have connected like USB hubs, printers, ect.  As any one of those things if bad can cause the board to not start.
Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 414
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2012, 09:51:25 am »

Hi

If this is an upgrade as opposed to a new build it is quite possible that you have left an old motherboard stand that should have been removed and is causing a short to earth. So the first thing is to check that there are no shorts. If necessary remove the motherboard from the case and build it outside on the bench.

Make sure that you observe anti-static precautions.

Lay some cardboard or use the motherboard box that is non-conductive on the worktop and remove the motherboard/CPU/heatsink/fan/buzzer/one stick of memory/graphics card and PSU from the case and put it on the cardboard. Add the keyboard and mouse and try and boot. The system should try and make a beep or series of beeps. Please post what sounds it makes.

Please post a list of your components especially the PSU make and model.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
Kren
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 9


« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2012, 09:57:52 am »

disconnected everything but the cpu's 8 pin connector, cleared the cmos and i still get nothing. The only thing i have after hiting the power button are those two leds (orange ane green), nothing else (the fans dont even move 1mm)

PS: i have an intel core i7 980x
Logged
Lsdmeasap
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 58
Offline Offline

Posts: 1166



WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2012, 10:01:24 am »

980X is supported from BIOS F1, so that's not the issue.

You either have a short as Dark Mantis mentioned, or you have bent CPU socket pins.   Test OFF the motherboard try on a wood table or box as mentioned above, then if that does not help you'll need to check the CPU socket for bent pins.

Is this all old, new, or what?  Please when you list your hardware tell us what is new and what is old, and what you KNOW for sure works such as memory from older build, ect.

Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 414
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2012, 10:10:02 am »

The other thing is that possibly the PSU isn't powerful enough to run the system now.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
Kren
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 9


« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2012, 10:11:17 am »

980X is supported from BIOS F1, so that's not the issue.

You either have a short as Dark Mantis mentioned, or you have bent CPU socket pins.   Test OFF the motherboard try on a wood table or box as mentioned above, then if that does not help you'll need to check the CPU socket for bent pins.

Is this all old, new, or what?  Please when you list your hardware tell us what is new and what is old, and what you KNOW for sure works such as memory from older build, ect.



Everything is new, here is a list:
Ultra X4 1200w psu
intel core i7 980x
wd velociraptor hdd
amd radeon 6990
patriot g2 ram 8gb ram memory
Logged
Lsdmeasap
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 58
Offline Offline

Posts: 1166



WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2012, 10:17:25 am »

Then you probably have a short, or bent CPU socket pins.  Please find a case speaker and connect and try once more before you tear it apart, in case it gives us an obvious error that does not require a tear down.
Logged
Kren
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 9


« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2012, 10:29:09 am »

it has to be a two pin case speaker or can i use a regular one attached to the miniplug audio output?
Logged
Lsdmeasap
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 58
Offline Offline

Posts: 1166



WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2012, 10:32:32 am »

Is has to be the 2 pin case speaker, connected to the motherboard which is a 4 pin header with two missing in the middle

Looks like this

Logged
Dark Mantis
Gold Helper
Hero Member
*

Karma: 414
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 18413


10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont


WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2012, 10:50:19 am »

Yes I do wish they would start including them in with the motherboard bundle again.
Logged

Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932

Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3
i7 3770K
Vengeance 1600 16GB
6950 2GB
HCP1200W
Revo Drive x2, 1.5TB WDB RAID0
16x DLRW
StrikeX S7
Full water cooling
3 x 27" Iiy
Pages: [1] 2
Official GIGABYTE Forum  |  Questions about GIGABYTE products  |  Motherboards with Intel processors  |  Computer wont even start! « previous next »
    Jump to: