Official GIGABYTE Forum

Time for a change of PC Chassis

absic

• Never give up; Never surrender!
    • Bandcamp
Time for a change of PC Chassis
« on: April 29, 2012, 03:14:22 pm »
Just thought I would share some images of my latest rebuild. This is not a review of the Xigmatek Elysium but if you are looking at getting a full size chassis and have any questions regarding this case please ask and I will do my best to answer them for you.

I have been using an NZXT Tempest Evo PC case for the past 18 months and have been really pleased with it but, having switched to water cooling from air I felt that it would be nice to get a larger case to house everything properly. Luckily I was able to get hold of a Xigmatek Elysium Chassis and spent a day swapping things over.

As you can see from these pictures the Elysium is quite a bit larger than the NZXT Tempest Evo.

With the Tempest Evo keeping things tidy was a real nightmare and my radiator had to be mounted onto the outside of the chassis.

But with the Xigmatek there are no such problems. I have been able to mount the radiator internally, tidied up the bulk of the cables and there is still room to spare.

There's still some work to do, to tidy things up further, especially with regard to cable sleeving but things are definitely neater and there has been a drop in CPU temp of 4C.
Remember, when all else fails a cup of tea and a good swear will often help! It won't solve the problem but it will make you feel better.

Dark Mantis

• 10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont
    • Dark Mantis
Re: Time for a change of PC Chassis
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2012, 09:14:06 pm »
It's looking good there absic. As you said there is some difference in size between the cases. Definitely looks tidier though and by the time you finish the cable routing it should be the dog's danglies!