Official GIGABYTE Forum

GIGABYTE - GA-x58-USB3 Graphical/RAM Issue - Really Confused.

So Im having a few problems with my 14 month old machine and Im a bit confused as to what the problem might be. I will start with the problem and then move onto some screen shots of the error and then onto what I have done so far to try and find the issue.

So, the pc was bought in parts and put together by myself 14 months ago. I have never done anything else like this before but I felt everything went well considering, it was all up and running and everything was going sweetly. Until I noticed that my BIOS/windows was only showing 8GB. Because I had spent £1500+ on the pc I choose to get cheap copy of windows (Windows Vista Home Basic) when I noticed it was only displaying 8GB of RAM and not 12gb which I have in the system I started to do some research as to why. I was then told that this copy of windows only does 8GB of ram so thought nothing more about it until I could afford a new copy of win 7. (which turned out to be incorrect it does support 12gb)

So.. new copy of win7 upgrade installed.. wonderful but no, still only 8GB of ram. The problem only got worse... a few weeks later every time I went onto something like BBCiplayer/Youtube the screen appeared to be green. But only on the part where the player was located so as a temp fix I just stopped using Google Chrome and used Firefox instead, which works weirdly enough but only for a few weeks. I then started looking at why I was getting these awful graphical problems.

Over the time I have had the machine every few days/weeks Id not really noticed I was getting the following error but thought nothing of it.
"Display Drivers has stopped responding and has recovered" "Display Drivers Nvidia windows kernal mode drivers, Version 296.10 stopped responding and has successfully recovered" Just before recieveing this message the screen would go black. I ignored it for a few months until everything started happening.