Official GIGABYTE Forum

New Z77X-UD5H build, Windows 8 install does not recognize SSD

Served

New Z77X-UD5H build, Windows 8 install does not recognize SSD
« on: November 04, 2012, 03:43:50 pm »
I will attempt to explain my situation fully. This might be long; please bear with me as I have found no solution. Thanks in advance for any assistance for this issue. I've worked with computers for years, but this is my first build.

I bought the UD5H for its reviews and recommendations and because it has five SATA3 ports. I want to connect five SATA3 drives. Since Windows 8 has native mirroring functionality, I will use two 3TB HDDs to mirror onto two others. The SSD will be used as the OS / system drive. The build went clean, was able to enter BIOS upon first boot (I patted myslf on the back for this). Here's how the drives are setup on SATA ports:

• SSD on Intel SATA3 port 0 (I figure this will be the most efficient port for the system drive)
  • HDD 1 on Intel SATA3 port 1
  • HDDs 2, 3, 4 on the Marvell SATA3 ports

All five drives are recognized in BIOS; SATA mode set to AHCI since I will not be running RAID. I can also see the DVD drive connected to an Intel SATA2 port. So, now I'm ready for the Windows 8 Pro 64-bit install. Boot to DVD.

The install starts fine, enter key, etc. The page where the install asks "Where do you want to install Windows?" shows the four HDDs, but the SSD is missing. Just great. There's a "Load Drivers" selection on this page. I have no driver for the SSD. I asked Crucial tech support about it. They said Win 8 should be able to recognize it; if it asks for a driver, that would be a SATA driver. (But the current SATA driver sees the HDD) He also suggested swapping SATA cables, ports, SATA power ports on PSU, use a SATA2 port just to get the OS installed. None of these things worked.