Official GIGABYTE Forum

PC shutting down for 5 sec. during re-start process

PC shutting down for 5 sec. during re-start process
« on: April 17, 2013, 03:43:36 am »
Hi,

It is very nice to be in this forum with so many knowledgeable people.  I am new to the Motherboard technology so I am asking you guys to please be patience with me  ;)   

I have had for almost three years, a H55M-USB3 (Socket 1156 -  Rev. 2.0 & BIOS  F10) Gigabyte Motherboard, which works fine, really, no complaints except for:

Each time I re-Start the PC and immediately BEFORE the Gigabyte Logo appears (you know the one that presents the options for tweaking the BIOS and/or the boot process), the PC SHUTS-DOWN totally for almost 5 seconds (it ALWAYS behaves like this, every time I re-boot) and it turns ON again by itself, after this period of time to finish the boot process.

I got used to it and I know it never fails, so this is no big deal, but I am kind of curious.

BTW, this behavior appeared almost by the time I bought it and of course I asked the  "guru" guy from the store that sold it to me and he told me it was normal (which I knew it wasn´t, but since it always turns on again fine, I let this issue pass.  Also, the BIOS is F10 which I updated fine from F9

Thanks a lot
Enrique Diazruanova

Motherboard: H55M-USB3
CPU: Intel Core i7 860
RAM: 8 Gb DDR3
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5670 w/1Gb memory

dmdilks

• "If it isn't broke don't fix it"
    • http://dmdcomputerservice.webs.com/
Re: PC shutting down for 5 sec. during re-start process
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 04:46:24 am »
The guy is right some of the boards out there do a reboot thing and I myself at first thought the same thing.

Was there something wrong or is it normal. My x79 board will do it some times. I can't tell you which boards do it and which ones don't.

I feel as long as it is booting into windows and you are not having any problems than everything must be fine.