Official GIGABYTE Forum

Problem Restarting

Problem Restarting
« on: June 16, 2014, 04:56:57 pm »
I have just done a system build with a H81M-DS2 motherboard and an Intel G3440 CPU. When at the desktop and I issue a restart command the system closes normally but then leaves me with no VGA output, if I turn the PSU off and on again and press the on/off button it turns on okay.

On the odd occasion when I turn the system on the fans start to spin, I get no VGA output, the system turns itself off and on again and boots normally.

I have downloaded the bios update for this motherboard and it gives me 3 files. Autoexec.bat, Efiflash.exe and H81MDS2.F5 file. If I run the Efiflash.exe on the system I get an error messege saying "The version of this file is not compatible with the version of windows you are using" I am running Windows 7 64 bit.

Is this restart issue common with Gigabyte boards, I am a system builder but I`m only just starting to use Gigabyte motherboards ??

Re: Problem Restarting
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 05:12:38 pm »
Also if I boot into a dos environment and try to flash that way I get a bios mismatch error  ???

absic

• Never give up; Never surrender!
    • Bandcamp
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 08:08:32 pm »
What revision is your motherboard?

Have you checked the FAQ about updating BIOS here: http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,2441.msg13929.html#msg13929
Remember, when all else fails a cup of tea and a good swear will often help! It won't solve the problem but it will make you feel better.

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2014, 10:14:32 am »
Rev 2.0

Also the link you provided has broken picture links. I used a USB stick and run the program that came with the download but it came up with a bios mismatch error.

Just tried it again this morning and now the flash program starts to run and now I get the error "Not Able To Read Bios File Sucessfully"

Downloaded the file again and replaced it on the flash stick but no difference.