Official GIGABYTE Forum

GA 890GPA-UD3H external sata help

GA 890GPA-UD3H external sata help
« on: January 19, 2011, 03:01:15 am »
Hello all. I hope someone can help me as I am a newbie with computers and something is wrong!
I built a HTPC. I am using a GA 890GPA-UD3H (2.1) motherboard. My case is a Coolermaster 690 II Advanced. It has an external SATA drive. I plugged an HDD into it and nothing. It feels like it's running and its getting warm. Is there something I need to change in the BIOS? When I go into Disk Management its not showing up. It may not be a motherboard issue, but that's where I'm starting. Please don't use advanced terminology because I;m a beginner. I really appreciate any help you may be able to give me. Also, if you need any other info, please let me know. Thank you so much if you can help!

Christoph

Re: GA 890GPA-UD3H external sata help
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 06:06:31 am »
you gonna have to change in bios

that port to AHCI that you have to know what port is plugged to

I would use ports sata II (white ones) to plug the external Esata port you have on top of your case and set this ports in bios to AHCI, you gonna have just 3 options that are IDE, SATA or AHCI

AHCI is the one that can handle Plug And Play

babdi

• Future is Overclocking and is free
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 10:01:57 am »
Where does your external sata port connect in the motherboard. There are 3 white and 1 blue connectors. It should be connected to white. The blue is eSATA
Phenom II,x4,3.5 Ghz, OC 4.218 Stable
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H rev 2.1
RAM 1600 GSkill-RiPjaws ,9-9-9-24,1.5 V, 16GB
MSI 460 GTX, 1GB
Seagate 320 GB HDD AHCI mode
H70 push pull coolar
Corsair HX750 W PSU
M59 NZXT case

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 02:28:53 pm »