Official GIGABYTE Forum

GA-P55-US3L: unknown constant hard drive accesses

Lsdmeasap

• Gigabyte Support (TweakTown USA)
Re: GA-P55-US3L: unknown constant hard drive accesses
« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2011, 07:16:13 pm »
I would not lead you down the wrong path, trust me!   I am an administrator and head up support at the official US GIGABYTE support site here:
http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/

The INF Chipset driver installer I linked you to is for all chipsets, from old to new.  It is the actual installer, and it will scan and update any and all drivers that need updated.   Yes, it is the second link, named what you quoted (Here's the direct link)
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&ProdId=816&DwnldID=19596&ProductFamily=Chipsets&ProductLine=Chipset+Software&ProductProduct=Intel%c2%ae+Chipset+Software+Installation+Utility&lang=eng

You just download, install, then reboot and you are done.   Yes, they all installer over the old ones, and the installers will skip any files that are already up to date.

I only suggested you grab the latest one linked above because you guys had mentioned it, I am not sure if it will correct your issue, but it is the latest driver set.    It probably will not, as this is a strange issue and I've never seen it before other than what I mentioned above, and I've been helping users with GIGABYTE boards for years, and building my own systems for much longer than that.    I don't suggest this will solve your issue, I'm only discussing it because you asked about the latest drivers is all.   Hopefully it will help, but I kinda think the issue is due to some other problem?

Your chipset is series 5 as you mentioned, that includes all P55/H55/H57/Q57/P55/X58.   And you should be using your SATA Drive in AHCI mode, this could possibly be giving you HD LED issues?   I am not sure, but I would be using AHCI anyway as it is better for performance with your SATA Drive.