Official GIGABYTE Forum

ga-ma785gm-ud2h: PCIe x8 RAID card

ga-ma785gm-ud2h: PCIe x8 RAID card
« on: September 04, 2011, 06:50:21 pm »
Hello and good day.  This is my first time posting and after much research on the net and across the forums, I am still not capable of getting positive feeling about using a PCIe x8 RAID controller card on a PCIe x16 slot.  I have heard many tales, especially in IRC, that PCIe x16 is only used for graphics cards.  Since I have already ordered the RAID controller, this has me very worried.  And since it takes several weeks for my orders to reach me half way around the world, I'm about to go crazy with the stress!  :'(

My hardware I'm trying to use for a small, low-cost NAS setup is an older Gigabyte ga-ma785gm-ud2h (Rev. 1.0) board.  I have not used this board in over a year as of now.  The card I have purchased is the Highpoint RocketRAID 3530 controller PCIe x8.

Will these technologies work together, or will the board not post because the PCIe x16 slot is being used by something other than GPU card?

In other topics I have searched (although the models are not even similar, but the wording from mods make me hope), i have found information leading me to believe that all might be fine  (  http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,2875.msg19303.html#msg19303  ), while others give me a feeling that i might have a $500 dust collector (  http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,2390.msg13913.html#msg13913  ).

If i have left any info out that is needed, please let me know.  This is my first time posting here.

Thank you for any information you might be able to offer.

--John

absic

• Never give up; Never surrender!
    • Bandcamp
Re: ga-ma785gm-ud2h: PCIe x8 RAID card
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2011, 07:00:44 pm »
Hi there,

first off let's try and clear up teh PCIe x16 question. These slots are backwards compatible and will take an X8 card. They should also take an X4 and an X1 PCIe card too.