Official GIGABYTE Forum

GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Issues

GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Issues
« on: January 13, 2012, 03:08:53 pm »
First off this is my first build in 8 years - wow a lot has changed since my old AMD Athalon.  :D
Second I am not a tech guru.  I read a lot before I got into something so I feel I have a decent handle on the components I'm putting together but then I actually expect that to work without jumping thru hoops.  Maybe I'm being naive, or maybe things are just that finicky these days - hopefully y'all can enlighten me.

So to the point.  I just built up a new whitebox for doing esxi training on.

GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
2 X Kingston HyperX blu 8GB DDR3-1333 (PC3-10600) CL9 Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit
Cooler Master GX Series 650W ATX Power Supply

After putting it all together I fired it up and immediately started getting the reboot cycle that I've seen mentioned a few times now on this and other forums.  I took everything back apart and reseated it all with the exact same results.  I then removed all the memory except one stick in the 3_1 position.  On the second boot cycle the computer started and I was able to get to the bios.  That is as far as I've been able to get. 
I tried to add a second stick of memory but then would get the boot cycle happening again.  I'm not sure what the Phase LED's are supposed to represent but going top to bottom they read; Red, Orange, Green, Green - which is again something I've seen others mention in forum threads, but again without any solid explanation of what that might point to.