Official GIGABYTE Forum

Motherboard Random Beep Code on Startup, Operates Fine

Valkyr

Motherboard Random Beep Code on Startup, Operates Fine
« on: April 26, 2012, 06:52:01 pm »
Hello All,

I am somewhat new to this, first build. everything is set up and seems to be running perfectly. custom built, stats listed below. operates fine, quick start-up, everything seems to be running swimmingly, games are fast, system is super cool (doesnt breach 29C on standby, doesnt breach 45C on full load Prime95). With one exception. It seems as though 40% of the time on a cold boot, my computer beeps incessantly at me. seems like one long, and 9 shorter beeps. re-seated RAM, GPU and re-plugged in all SATA cables and everything. This error occurred before installing the added SSD, but it beeps just as frequently as it did before installation, reinstalled windows, same. did it again, same. when the beep happens on startup, it goes straight to the homescreen just as fast as when it doesnt beep. it seems to be a consistent (about 40% of the time) beep code almost half the time, before windows reinstall, SSD install, updated all drivers and OS, and it doesnt make a difference to the occurrence of the beep. it doesnt label any errors or hardware connection problems. it continues to beep through and after startup for awhile, until it finishes beeping. I even ran Starcraft 2 on max settings while it was at the end of its beeping, and it ran at 60fps (locked at refresh rate of monitor), so it doesnt seem to be the GPU. built in card graphics had it running at about 20fps max on same settings, and no artifacts or lines on screen with or without discrete GPU. I have experienced lines on the monitor, however I soon found out that a driver update fixed that. no problems since (besides the beep). I have no problems besides the 40% chance it will piss my upstairs neighbor off from all the damned beeping lol. any ideas? I would like to fix this myself, but I am about ready to pay the geek squad