Official GIGABYTE Forum

Major overheating issues with 990FX UD3 VER 1.1

Major overheating issues with 990FX UD3 VER 1.1
« on: May 11, 2013, 11:54:12 pm »
Hey guys,

I need some help with my set up. I have 10 years of PC building experience bout half that in overclocking. Here is the issue. I have set the board up and got my overclock stable. Only way to hit stability with my FX 8320 chip @ 4.5, was to set the voltage @ 1.5 and LLC (load line control) at high. AMD recommends for best OC results a voltage of 1.55 , however others would disagree but to each his own. With LLC enable and CPU voltage set to 1.5 the actual voltage never goes over 1.526 which is not bad. Ran Prime for 9 hours. 20 runs of intel burn at maximum OCCT for 12 hours. Max load temps 55C which is awesome in my book. Max  gaming temps were around 35-40c. Idle temps were iffy around 19c which is lower than my room ambient temp (Approx 73f)

All ran perfect for a month or more. last nite, after a hour of gaming Sniper Elite Zombie Army, I noticed the temps were way too high for me around 55c. So I loaded a synthetic OCCT temps shot straight to 80c at which I abruptly discontinued the test and began to scratch my head. I reset the PC and went into the BIOs checking for any changes from my original settings. Nothing the only change is the CPU temp in the BIOs is 40c from its usual 30c. That is when I stopped scratching and began to get pissed thinking I have defective hardware. I go back into windows and say" NAH cant be that hot, its got to be a sensor issue."  I load OCCT again and temps hit 82C on the CPU when the PC froze. Hard reset the PC went into the BIOs set all to default, restart and  ran Prime for 15 minutes load temps where still higher than they used to be,  around 50c. But all ran perfect no locks or freezes.