Official GIGABYTE Forum

Lifeless New Build - GA-EX58-UD5

Lifeless New Build - GA-EX58-UD5
« on: February 07, 2010, 10:11:33 pm »
Hi all,

This is my first attempt at a build so apologies if I’m doing something glaringly obvious. 

Problem:
Very little happens when I try to power up the machine. 

Story so far, when I switch on the I/O on the PSU the power button on the motherboard itself lights blue.  Fine.  2 LED’s also light up for a fraction of a second next to the DIMM sockets (one green the other orange) then disappear.  Manual says they are either NB Phase or DDR Phase LED’s.  I have a wireless mouse and the light on the wireless receiver attached to the computer comes on permanently and the CAPS/NUM/SCROLL LOCK lights do light-up for about one second but die after that.  So I then switch on the power using the front panel button and the 2 LED’s mentioned above now come on permanently.  There is also what seems to be a very quick “click” sound from the PSU but nothing else happens at all.  No fans work (all connected to headers but they don’t even move not for a second when the power button is pressed), there is no noise of any kind, no beeps that I’m aware of and no further LEDs light.  Monitor does nothing.

What I’ve tried so far:
Thought I should take it back to basics so stripped the system of everything and started completely from scratch.  Re-attached the motherboard, CPU, CPU cooler, 1 stick of 2Gb Corsair DDR3 1600, graphics card, 2 fans, monitor, keyboard, mouse.  Connected 2x12pin power supply, connected 2x4 pin power supply, connected 2 fan headers, connected 2x4pin PCI-E power to graphics card, connected front panel power and led cables and tried to power up again.  Made sure all connections were solid.  Exactly the same result!  Nothing moves and the only lights on the mobo are blue power button and the 2 LEDs mentioned above.