Official GIGABYTE Forum

Windows refuses to boot with Raid0 array when-

Windows refuses to boot with Raid0 array when-
« on: August 04, 2013, 10:48:16 pm »
This involves a Gigabyte P55 USB 3.0 Rev 2.0 motherboard. I am a complete newbie to RAID.

I have two 1 tb 7200rpm Seagate drives. I recently bought a 2 TB Toshiba drive and backed up all of my files on it. I also installed Windows on it so it would be a bootable drive. My intention was to set the two Seagates up in Raid0 as a 2TB array which I've never done before. That was easy and Windows recognized the drive once I had the proper drivers. Ive booted to a fully functional copy of Windows on the array.

I am under the assumption that the two 'GSATA 'ports on the mobo are the only ones supported by the onboard raid controller so thats where the two Seagates are hooked up. However the problem is when I try to plug the Toshiba in to any of the remaining SATA ports. Windows fails to boot every time- no matter if I have the Toshiba drive set as a lower priority and the raid array as the first boot drive. Does changing the MOBO to RAID mode affect even the non GSATA ports? If so, why even have them?

I have to unplug both the RAID drives from the GSATA ports, reset the MOBO back to IDE mode and then run Windows repair on the Toshiba drive to even get it to boot without crashing after messing with the array. I want access to the Toshiba while on the Raid array so I can migrate all of my files to the Raid array. That way I have the performance of Raid0 but still have data on two drives for redundancy. There might even be a way to accomplish that with 3 drives but like I said, I'm new to trying to set up RAID.

TL:DR- Having 3rd non raid hd plugged up to SATA port causes Raid0 array with a working bootable copy of windows to fail to boot. Every. Single. Time.

Thanks for any help.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2013, 10:54:36 pm by Yahoosucks »

dmdilks

• "If it isn't broke don't fix it"