Official GIGABYTE Forum

Can't start computer with new motherboard

Can't start computer with new motherboard
« on: June 23, 2017, 05:34:30 pm »
Hi everyone,
New poster here  :D
I have a Gigabyte GA-F2A88X-D3H which came fitted on my desktop that I acquired from Cyberpower (I know).
The computer always had a problem with flickering lines of static across the screen followed by the graphics crashing.
I replaced the graphics card, replaced the RAM but persisted and eventually fell out of warranty.
I decided to try if it was the Motherboard so searched the same one. I'm not a computer expert by any means so thought it would be easier to do a like for like switch of cables to ensure they're done right.
I actually got the GA-F2A88XM-D3H. I'm unsure what the M stands for. The board is smaller, there's no Ultra Durable thing on it but seems the same other than that.
I've carefully replaced all the cables like for like.
When I went to power up, there was nothing. I turned round the POWER SW plug and now while I hold the POWER button down, the fans turn on the CPU, System Fan and Power Unit. The LED lights come on but flicker. When I let go of the POWER button it all closes down again. Nothing boots up and no power other than the fans and LEDs runs through that I can see or hear.
I've added 2x 4Gb Hyper X RAM sticks and a Radeon R7 dual graphics card.
Any help would be appreciated and I thank you in advance  :)
Matt

dmdilks

• "If it isn't broke don't fix it"
    • http://dmdcomputerservice.webs.com/
Re: Can't start computer with new motherboard
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2017, 06:08:20 pm »
Looking at both boards make sure you don't have stand off in the wrong. The mounting holes are different.
X299X Aorus Master, i9-9940x-3.30Ghz, 64gb G-Skill DDR4-2400, MSI RTX-3070 8GB, Cooler Master case, Thermal-take PSU 850w, 1-M2-NMVe SSD-512gb, 3-Pny 1TB SSD, 2-WD Raptors 1TB, Win 10 pro 64bit, Asus 35" 144Mhz Monitor.

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2017, 06:24:08 pm »