Official GIGABYTE Forum

Ryzen 1700X and AX370 K7: Memory too fast and CPU too slow - or vice versa.

Hi guys, first post here, I've been building PCs for over 20 years, but I need some advice!

I need help this time because I think I've reached the limit of trial and error  (and google) now that I've logged 30 hours (tinkering, not counting stress tests etc) on it. This is why it's quite a long post, I do apologise.

I've searched the forums and found the usual 'can't get RAM up to speed etc', but I appear to be having the opposite problem.

So this build is a special one, because it is my first for myself. Over the last 20 years I've built literally hundreds of high end workstations, servers, gaming PCs and even bespoke kiosk appliances. I've only ever 'made do' and upgraded what bits I had laying around at the time.

This time my other half convinced me to just go ahead an buy some parts. I gave myself a budget of £2000.

I did A LOT of research and thought I'd made the best decision buying the 1700X over the 1800X and the AX370 K7 over the Asus Crosshair X370.

So I knew about some of the memory issues with Ryzen before I got into this, which is why I bought the highest density I could afford while keeping in the range of the most over-engineered. Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (2x16) C15.

Last I checked this wasn't on the QVL, but it is in fact just a higher quality version of what is on the list.

Here is my build:

PSU: Corsair TX750
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus AX370 K7 - F7a Firmware
Processor: Ryzen 1700X at 3.8GHz (more of this later)
Cooler: CoolerMaster MasterLiquid 240
RAM: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (2x16) C15
GPU: Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080Ti (bought this a week after initial build)

The rig draws roughly 290w in normal (few VMs etc) use and around 500-600w when working hard.

I feel I need to fill you in on the story so far: