Official GIGABYTE Forum

Prime95

Smitty

Prime95
« on: December 07, 2010, 11:58:51 pm »
Forgive me if I sound a little ignorant on the subject.  I know there's a 32 bit version of Prime95, but is there a 64 bit version as well?  Does it matter which one I use--I'm using Win7 Ultimate x64.  This seems to be the most common overclocking test/verification tool, but are there others that you folks would recommend?  This is my first attempt at mild overclocking, and therefore, my first attempt at "stressing" a PC.  My PC has been running fine for about a week now, and I intended to run Prime95 before I began overclocking.  I assumed this would identify instability, before I begin overclocking.  Or is that a bad idea?
Lancool PC-K62, Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 Rev.2.1, AMD Phenom II 1090T, ZALMAN CNPS9900ALED, 2x Crucial 64GB RealSSD C300, 2x WD 1TB Caviar Green SATA, Sapphire Radeon HD5770 PCIe, Kingwin Lazer LZ-1000 PSU, 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

absic

• Never give up; Never surrender!
    • Bandcamp
Re: Prime95
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2010, 09:53:05 am »
Hi Smitty,

As you are running a 64Bit version of windows you really need the 64 bit version of Prime95. You can download it from Extremeoverclocking.com here: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/download.php?fh=84aa92208050bf61b75f20c454fd87a7

Being totally honest and going much against the grain, I rarely use stress tests on my systems. I do a lot of Audio/Video work that requires a lot of number crunching so I usually run a few of these things as tests as this is the maximum stress load I will ever use and if it falls over then I know I need to make some adjustments. I do this before I get down to any thing that is important, as I don't want the system to crash whilst rendering a 3 hour film or during a multi-track recording session.