Official GIGABYTE Forum

GA-X58-UD5 & RAM = BSOD Problem

DT86UK

GA-X58-UD5 & RAM = BSOD Problem
« on: February 18, 2011, 12:56:38 am »
Hi Everyone,

First time poster so bare with me :)

I've recently purchased the GIGABYTE GA-X58-UD5 (rev 2.0) along with OCZ3P1333LV6GB RAM (3x2GB) and long story short when the PC runs, boots up fine, but the BSOD will occur at any given moment.

However, when I use 1 stick or 2, this problem doesnt happen - at all. Right now, its now been running some 7+ hours and counting and not one BSOD and has done over the past few days, with all 3 sticks in though im lucky to get an hour or 2 out of it. I'm completely out of ideals as this is by no means my forte. The digging around I've done on related threads have been unhelpful as, from the few I could find, was to replace the board - and the manufacturer of it at that.

Now, I'm not experienced at all at BIOS updates so correct me if Im wrong at all - I've tried upgrading my BIOS however the link i've tried (Downloads on the Board spec page) wont update the BIOS due to me running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit - as the RAM is 6GB I want to utilise all of it - OR, do i do this on botting up the machine and running from USB Stick???

Ideally I'm looking for a quick solution - although I know nothing ever is with stuff of this nature lol. I had wondered if I put another 3 sticks in if it would over-ride the problem? Plus it would give me the chance to try out a different brand and see if its the RAM. Also, what RAM are any of you using with the same board and if you experienced this problem how did you get around it?

..Oh the RAM sticks are in the correct slots too 2nd, 4th, 6th (white ones, counting from left)

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Dan ;D

Full PC Spec:
Windows Ultimate 64bit
Gigabyte GA-X58-UD5 MoBo
Intel i7 950 CPU
OCZ3P1333LV6GB RAM
Ati Raedon 5830 1GB DDR5
Samsung F3 1TB HDD (X2)
DVD/RW (Dont know specifics)