Official GIGABYTE Forum

Lan issues MA790X-UD3P

Lan issues MA790X-UD3P
« on: August 19, 2009, 09:28:21 am »
 Hello everyone , i'm new to the foru Hello everyone , i'm new to the forum . I recently ( 2 days ago ) bought the mobo in the title+x2 550 which unlocked successfully to a quad. There is a issue i'm having with the internet connection . With the onboard lan it is limited to only 10mbs, vanilla drivers . If I install latest drivers the connection goes unplugged and there isn't much that I can do :(( sob sob but rollback to vanilla . Pls help i don't want to have my internet limited so badly :(

Re: Lan issues MA790X-UD3P
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2009, 09:51:05 pm »
Ok so i just installed a third party lan card and guess what , connectivity is shown as 100mbs  >:( . Could there be something phisically wrong with onboard card?

Re: Lan issues MA790X-UD3P
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2009, 11:29:09 pm »
Which OS are you using? And more importantly, what is on the other end of your Ethernet cable? I've got the MA790FXT-UD5P which is really a go faster version of your board. It has twin LAN connections, which is to all intents and purposes what you have but installed twice. I found the drivers supplied on the CD that came with the board work fine for Windows XP whilst the default drivers for Windows 7 work fine with that. In both cases I get a reported connection of 100Mbps, which is what I expect as I'm connected to a 100Mbps Ethernet switch. I can't test it at gigabit speeds as I don't have any gigabit kit to check with, but I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work.

I expect you have found the same problem I did with the 'latest' drivers. In both XP and 7 the updated Realtek drivers do not work. I have tried under both, and ended up rolling back in both cases to get a connection again. My suggestion here is to avoid the driver available through Windows update and watch the Gigabyte site for updated drivers instead.