Official GIGABYTE Forum

GA-890FXA-UD5 RAM + OC problem

Morgs

GA-890FXA-UD5 RAM + OC problem
« on: June 13, 2011, 01:17:19 am »
Just putting together a new build and found out my UD5 won't support 2000 MHz RAM and is winding it back to 1333 MHz. After spending a lot of time reading up on OC'ing (all new to me), there are two things I'd like to achieve:

1:   Manually set my RAM to 1866 MHz
2:   Modestly OC the CPU to a point where it still runs comfortably without needing a cooling upgrade.

My setup is as follows:

GA-890FXA-UD5 (revision PH-E0)
PhenomII X6 1100T Black Edition
GSkill Ripjaws F3-16000CL9D-8GBRM 2000 MHz (CL9-10-9-28 1.55v)
Gigabyte NVidia GeForce GTX 570
120gb OCZ Revodrive PCI-E SSD
Thermaltake 750w Evo Blue PSU
Antec 900 case

NOTE: I'll be getting another 8gb of (same) RAM next week and plan on getting another GTX570 later down the track.

Wondering if anyone can suggest a configuration to sort both problems at the same time? As I said I'm new to this so a walkthrough would be a huge help.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2011, 08:47:45 am by runn3R »

absic

• Never give up; Never surrender!
    • Bandcamp
Re: GA-890FXA-UD5 RAM + OC problem
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2011, 08:25:32 am »
Hi there,

You might like to look through this thread: http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,3637.0.html which may help.
Remember, when all else fails a cup of tea and a good swear will often help! It won't solve the problem but it will make you feel better.

Morgs

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 11:30:38 am »
Thanks, that did help.

In case anyone else is just getting into this- I've done a bit of research, started simple and this is what's worked well for me so far.

NOTE:  I am new to this, don't take my word as gospel. You fck it? Well, my mistake your fault.

Hardware I'm OC'ing:

1.  AMD Phenom II X6 1100T 3.3g processor
2.  8gb (2x4gb) GSkill Ripjaws F3-16000 DDR3 RAM at 2000 MHz