Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 REV:1.3 major issues

Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 REV:1.3 major issues
« on: October 23, 2011, 11:57:53 pm »
I'm having major issues with a new build:

i5 2500k
GA-Z68XP-UD3 REV:1.3
Corsair Vengeance 8gb (2x4gb) CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 DDR3 dual channel ram
OCZ Solid 3 SATA3 120gb SSD
WD Black 640gb 7200rpm SATA2 HDD (came from previous stable system)
XFX Radeon HD 6870 video card (came from previous stable system)
Silverstone 750w PSU (came from previous stable system)
Windows 7 x64 professional w/sp1 (from previous stable system)

It seems that this board doesn't exist. The revision of 1.3 does not exist on Gigabyte's website EXCEPT as a GA-Z68XP-UD3R REV:1.3 but that board has a black PCB, a black box and has a completely different BIOS and I assume different drivers.

My major issue with this build so far has been that either I can't finish the unppacking of windows 7 files during the pre-install due to BSOD OR I get past that part and can install all drivers and then windows update getting stuck and either blue screening OR random rebooting. I get errors in windows that all relate to this in some form or another once i start to update. Note that I have tried installing windows with various media - OEM W7x64 CD, OEM W7x64 4gb bootable kingston flash drive, MSDN W7x64 CD, MSDN W7x64 bootable flash drive (Kingston flash drive), Also I've tried with W7x64 PRO and Home Premium. See error below:

"Error code: 0x80070643Or

You receive one of the following error codes when you try to install .NET Framework updates through Windows Update or Microsoft Update, or when you attempt to update malware signatures in Microsoft Security Essentials.

Error code: 0x643Back to the top