Official GIGABYTE Forum

Installing Memory ? ? Win XP Shut Down During Fresh Install ??

Installing Memory ? ? Win XP Shut Down During Fresh Install ??
« on: December 07, 2011, 08:58:41 pm »
Hello all
I'm a newbie a this is my first post . . . Its kinda dual but not really .. one solution can probably solve both of my concerns I hope. I have never overclocked and can address that at a later date.

Hardware: motherboard=GA-EX58-UD4P (Rev:1.0)  Memory= G.Skill F3-12800CL8T-6GBRM ( 3 sticks of 2GB = 6GB); CPU= i7-950 LGA1366; Power Supply= OCZ ZS Series 650W  HDD= Seagate 7200rpm, 400GB; Video Card=Galaxy GeForce GT 430 PCI Express.

History: I first try to build this system using G.Skill F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ, I replaced this memory with the above listed memory.

1) I am confused concerning the difference between Dual Channel Configuration and 3 Channel Configuration ? ? Which memory do I have? I can install according to the users manual if I could figure this out ??    2) Do I have to set the timing for this memory I am using ( CL-8-8-8-24  1.6v), or is it plug n play will the Bios adjust it or what ever ? ?  3) During my previous Win XP install, it would shut down  completely during the installation.  This build is out of the case on top of a wooden tale. With the new memory install it might solve the installation  problem ! !   I am am all ears (eyes)

Thanks - hap

Gloup_Gloup

• Let us sweet between members, on the forum.
Re: Installing Memory ? ? Win XP Shut Down During Fresh Install ??
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2011, 12:03:55 am »
Hi henryap,  ;)

Ok when you install Win XP, just use a One (1) stick of RAM.
Because Windows do not like seeing a multiple stick of RAM, at the installation time.

After finish and good install of Windows, you have a possibility to add RAM.

Single Channel is simple, just one stick of RAM installed.
DDR3_1 or DDR3_3 are standard place.

Dual Channel is a situation when you installed 2 stick of RAM in the same color of Bank of Memory.