Official GIGABYTE Forum

How do I disable the integrated soundcard on my GA-X58A-UD7 motherboard?

Hi Everyone,

Thanks in advance for the help and sorry that this is going to be longwinded.

I'm a novice when it comes to working on computers.  I've installed videocards, ram, etc.  I'm now attempting to install a new soundcard.  I'm doing this because of the sound issues that I'm having.  Sometimes my sound will cut out completely and I'll have to reboot my computer.  This gives me the, "waiting on 'some sound' file to exit," message; the file that plays the Windows shutting down chime.  Other times I get this wicked reverb while I'm playing a game.  Aside from cutting my hair so short that I can't pull it out, I've resorted to a new soundcard from Santa.

The manual says to disable the soundcard in the BIOS menu and, being the novice that I am, I can't see anything that clearly says, "Integrated Soundcard [Enabled]."  I've hunted on the fourms and I've read that Windows is capable of running multiple soundcards and/or I can go to Device Manager and disable the soundcard.

Here's what I would like to do and where I need help:

I want to do this the right way and disable the integrated soundcard in the BIOS, how do I do that?

... or,

What do I disable in the Device Manager to disable the integrated soundcard?

... also,

If Windows has a sound utility that may be interferring and causing the problems above (reverb and sound crash), how do I disable that without affecting this new soundcard?

... finally,

I have an AMD Radeon HD 6900 series graphics card (6980 I believe... I may be lying but the series is correct) connecting my monitor through the HDMI port and don't want to disable its sound function.

I want to do this the right way so I don't get future errors.  I'm not afraid of poking around the BIOS but not without some direction.  Two things scare me and there are no clowns in my BIOS so I only have to deal with one of them.

I'm running Windows 7 - 64bit.