Official GIGABYTE Forum

New motherboard missing pin

New motherboard missing pin
« on: May 04, 2012, 10:23:34 pm »
Hello all

This is my first time buying a gigabyte product, a new g1 guerrilla x58 to replace my dying motherboard. I always inspected any new pc hardware for damages before I installed them. Removing the cpu socket protection cap I notice a missing pin. Contacted the retailer I bought it from they send me to request rma from gigabyte as warrenty excludes bent/missing pins and they want nothing to do with it.

I find most of the information I need on this forum, may have a few questions while I proceed with the rma process.
Will report back if rma was successful or not.

Have a great weekend everyone.
killmar

Dark Mantis

• 10typesofpeopleoneswhoknow binaryandoneswhodont
    • Dark Mantis
Re: New motherboard missing pin
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2012, 07:59:06 pm »
Hi and welcome.

Not a great start eh! Still these things do happen and it is more important how they are rectified. Firstly I would go back to your retailer that sold it to you and explain that under the consumer laws in this country you have rights and one of them is that any item has to be fit for purpose and this obviously isn't! Also inside 28 days you have the right to take it back anyway.

This is Gigabyte's official wording "GIGABYTE recommends for customers to first contact their vendors for faster replacement or refund transactions. If experiencing difficulties in warranty service through your dealer or place of purchase, GIGABYTE will attempt to resolve this issue."

If you still have no luck and don't feel that you want to push it for your rights I am sure that Gigabyte will happily RMA the board for you. Contact this address:

returns@gbt-tech.co.uk.

If we can be of any further help please just post back.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2012, 08:00:07 pm by Dark Mantis »
Gigabyte X58A-UD7
i7 920
Dominators 1600 x6 12GB
6970 2GB
HX850
256GB SSD, Sam 1TB, WDB320GB
Blu-Ray
HAF 932