Official GIGABYTE Forum

Gigabyte Budget Rig help for a novice please.

Butchers

Gigabyte Budget Rig help for a novice please.
« on: August 12, 2009, 03:27:33 pm »
Hi peeps i am just a novice so could really do with some help as google has been unable to uncover anything for me.

I have had the pc for 6 months and apart from some memory probs at first everything has been fine since getting new ram modules. Anyway the problem i am having now is my bios is telling me my cpu frequency something like 1.25ghz when it should be 2.50ghz i have adjusted it manually back to what it should be but when i restart the pc and try it just stays the same. i was recommended to clear the bios and set optimized defaults so i used the mobo manual and tried this but still no change! The confusing thing is though is that cpu-z shows everything to be running at is normal 2.50ghz.

My main components are:
GA-EP35-DS3L Rev 1.0 (F6)
Freezer Pro 7
Intel Dual Core E5200
2 x 2gb of OCZ2G8002G
Asus Radeon HD4850 512mb
Coolermaster 460W Psu

Pottypete

Re: Gigabyte Budget Rig help for a novice please.
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2009, 05:47:58 pm »
Hi,
start, my computer,right click propeties, near the bottom left, what does system properties recognise your chip at?
In bios  is the cpu Front side bus set correctly?, check it, don't forget to save and exit,
F6A bios are available here, http://drivers-download-driver.com/driver-gigabyte-ga-ep35-ds3l-bios-f6a/

Butchers

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 06:27:31 pm »
Thank you for the reply pete. Yeah funnily enough the fsb host control was underclocked at 100mhz instead of 100mhz. The crazy thing is i don't understand why and the pc hasn't seemed to be reacting any slower  ??? Should i reflash the bios with that version you linked me to, its just that i thought that f6 was the latest version available. Lol this pc stuff can be so confusing sometimes  :)

Pottypete

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2009, 12:15:00 am »
Hi,