Official GIGABYTE Forum

x58a_ud3r bios update problem

x58a_ud3r bios update problem
« on: July 04, 2011, 02:01:31 pm »
Hi All

I am a complete noob as i have never built from scratch before. After doing a massive amount of research I chose the GA-x58a-UD3R. I built in April and everything has worked flawlessly.

I wanted to update the BIOS from FE to FF. I downloaded the FF file to a 2gb flash drive formated to MS-DOS FAT. Went to theBIOS and selected Q_Flash. When I choose Update the flash drive is recognized but says "0 files" available. So I tried an 8gb flash drive but ended up with the same results.

At this point I am stuck and need some assistance.

Thanks for you help.

Tom

absic

• Never give up; Never surrender!
    • Bandcamp
Re: x58a_ud3r bios update problem
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2011, 02:14:07 pm »
Hi there,

when you downloaded the BIOS update did you remember to extract them first or did you just copy the 7Zip file onto the pendrive?

Have a check here: http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,2441.0.html as this might help
Remember, when all else fails a cup of tea and a good swear will often help! It won't solve the problem but it will make you feel better.

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2011, 03:11:49 pm »
Hey

Thanks for your quick response. I checked the link and followed the steps but it still had the same results(see attachment).

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Tom

absic

• Bandcamp
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2011, 03:18:55 pm »
OK,

sorry if this seems silly but.....

When you extracted the files from the download did you copy all 3 files onto the root menu of the USB drive? This means did you just copy the 3 files across to the pendrive or did you copy them across in a folder?

When you see the screen that you have attached an image of are you pressing the "Enter" key on the keyboard? You may need to press the "Enter" key a couple of times to locate the update file.