Official GIGABYTE Forum

Sata port not allowing WHS 2011 to boot.

Sata port not allowing WHS 2011 to boot.
« on: January 06, 2012, 04:40:01 pm »
Happy New Year to everyone.

I suddenly have this strange error with my 990X-ud3 mb. Using a 4 core CPU. and 8GB memory. I have 4 drives connected to ports 0 to 3, a HD connected to sata 4 in IDE mode and a DVD connected to sata 5.I have been running it for a few months.

When I rebooted the system after being shutdown for a few days, The bios loaded properly and showed all sata drives connected to the MB on port 0 thru 3. When the operating system (WHS 2011) started to load, the screen stayed blank with just a cursor in the upper left. It would just remain in that state. After 3 hours of debugging and searching I found that when I detached the HD on sata  port 3, the system booted fine. I find now that whenever I connect any HD to port 3, the system will not boot. Ports 4 and work fine and so do ports 0 to 2. BIOS is current.

Is this a Sata port gone bad?

Corsair 750 Watt PS
AMD Phenom II

« Last Edit: January 06, 2012, 05:03:29 pm by blctech »

Re: Sata port not allowing WHS 2011 to boot.
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 06:27:12 pm »
I tried something else. I have 8 WD Green 2 and 3 TB drives attached to the system, some of the drives are on a Sata card attached to the MB buss. I disconnected 2 HD's from the power supply and the system will boot with a HD attached to the Sata port 3. Ah huh!

I had thought that a 750 PSU would run this system but I was wrong. I ordered a 1050w Corsair from Amazon and we will see what happens.

This was a strange failure of not enough power.

Re: Sata port not allowing WHS 2011 to boot. Revisited
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2012, 08:15:45 pm »
Well I was wrong. Dropped in a new Corsair 1050 power supply. I even ran a separate power cord to that drive on port 3 and guess what. The OS will not boot if the SATA drive connected to port 3 is powered up during boot.