Official GIGABYTE Forum

Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 - Restarting several times before boot

Bicceh

Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 - Restarting several times before boot
« on: February 13, 2012, 03:50:22 pm »
Hi

You'll have to forgive me with my 'noobishness' in this area of computers but i'm a complete beginner when it comes to motherboards so i thought i'd try my luck here to see if anyone could advise me on what to do. I purchased a custom built PC just before xmas using the Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 and, over the last week, i've started having problems booting.

First of all i would try to turn on my computer and, after about 5-6 seconds it would just shutdown. I wouldnt even get to the first boot screen or anything like that, it would shutdown before my monitor would even start working. This would happen about 5-10times and then after that my computer would boot and be 100% fine after that. I could shut it down and reboot it and it would work, but after long hours of it being off it would do the same as above.

Since finding this issue i've changed the power cables + 4 way adaptor with no effect, and yesterday i tried resetting the CMOS by removing the battery. The difference now is it gets through the boot but now turns off just before it starts to load windows. This still happens after about 5-6 seconds so the timeframe hasn't changed.

I've seen that the new BETA BIOS build says that it 'Improves Power On Issue' - would this be something i should look at getting? I'm not really fond of flashing the BIOS as i know how wrong things can go with it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Full system Specs below.

Many Thanks

Tom

CPU:  Intel Core i5 2500K
CPU Cooler: Corsair H60 Water Cooler
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium (64 Bit)
Motherboard:  Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600mhz Vengeance (2x 4GB)
Hard Drives:  500GB S-ATAII 3.0Gb/s
Graphics card:  AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB
Sound card:  Onboard 7.1 Audio
Case:  Zalman Z9 Plus
PSU:  650W Corsair TX Ultra-Quiet

absic