Official GIGABYTE Forum

990fxa-ud7 Raid-1 Windows 7 Boot drive won't install

990fxa-ud7 Raid-1 Windows 7 Boot drive won't install
« on: April 25, 2012, 02:36:21 pm »
I have a 990fxa-ud7 that I have been running for a few months with an old 500gb drive and decided to try and setup a RAID-1 for my boot drive from two 2TB drives that I have. I setup the raid in the BIOS according to the manual, I have the Drives in SATA ports 4&5 I created the RAID-1 in the RAID setup but once i start installing windows i get to the drive screen, load the RAID drivers from the DVD and it says it cannot install windows to my drive.. i see my drive and have tried creating a new partition and it creates a 100MB partition and the rest in a different partition, i have tried formatting both, deleting them all and trying again, making 90GB partitions and formatting, restarting trying it all again, but have not been able to have it let me install windows on my drive (NEXT Button is grayed out). Am I missing a step or setting my RAID up incorrectly? When setting up my RAID I select RAID 1 leave all the setting as default and select my 2 drives, it tells me i can name it or leave default and i leave it as default, asks me to wipe the MBR (if i select anything but CTRL+Y it stops the raid setup and send me back to one of the main screens) and then asks me if i want to se the size or leave default and I leave default.

I only have the 2 hard drives and a DVD drive plugged in, I do have a couple of other SATA drives I will be connecting internally later ()after i successfully setup windows)  and have also tried SATA ports 0&1 for my raid with no luck.

Like I said I am following the manual word for word on setting up the RAID in the BIOS and When creating my RAID. I am at work but will make sure to get back with any other things I try when i get home tonight.

Thanks for the help!
-Xeno
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 02:39:01 pm by Xenocide122 »

F5BJR